Is your star sign fixed, cardinal or mutable? | The Sun

IF you've been into horoscopes for some time you'll probably know there's so much more to astrology than just your star sign.

Your rising, moon, Lilith and Venus signs all reveal so much about your personality and now there's three more beauties to wrap your head around.

Express yourself

There are three modalities in astrology, which are fixed, cardinal or mutable.

A modality is basically the way something is expressed and each of these groups represents the distinctive way each sign expresses their personality and speaks their mind.

We know it sounds a bit out there, but trust us all will become clear.

"The modalities are another way to break down signs and elements," astrologer Lisa Stardust, told Bustle.

"They represent the sign and element’s ability to move and evolve with time."

Finding out whether you are a fixed, mutable or cardinal sign can help you make sense of why your energy is so different from your colleagues or why, for instance, you could be scared of commitment.

Cardinal Signs: Aries, Cancer, Libra, & Capricorn

If something is cardinal, it's fundamental.

"Cardinal signs are the 'initiators' of the zodiac," says Stardust. "They represent a spark or idea. They also signify the beginning of the season."

The cardinal signs often come up with the best ideas. They may not be great at always following them through to fruition, but you want these entrepreneurial visionaries on your team.

List of 12 star signs

The traditional dates used by Mystic Meg for each sign are below.

  • Capricorn: December 22 – January 20
  • Aquarius: January 21 – February 18
  • Pisces: February 19 – March 20
  • Aries: March 21 – April 20
  • Taurus: April 21 – May 21
  • Gemini: May 22 – June 21
  • Cancer:  June 22 – July 22
  • Leo: July 23 – August 23
  • Virgo: August 24 – September 22
  • Libra: September 23 – October 23
  • Scorpio: October 24 – November 22
  • Sagittarius: November 23 – December 21

Fixed Signs: Taurus, Leo, Scorpio, and Aquarius

Think of a lion eyeing up its prey and you'll get the idea of the fixed signs' level of focus.

"Fixed signs are the 'doers' of the zodiac," explains Stardust. "They carry out the ideas manifested by the cardinal signs [and] do all the work needed to complete the task at hand."

The fixed signs aren't carbon copies of each other, but you better believe they're grafters who will get the job done. Think laser-beam focus on steroids.

Mutable Signs: Gemini, Virgo, Sagittarius, & Pisces

So, if cardinal signs have the idea and fixed signs get the job done, mutable signs saunter in at the 11th hour and take the biscuit.

Most read in Horoscopes


July 4: If you are in love, take the lead and be less critical


July 3: Spending-wise, trust your feelings more than others’ opinions


Pisces weekly horoscope: What your star sign has in store for July 3 – 9


Aquarius weekly horoscope: What your star sign has in store for July 3 – 9

"Mutable signs represent the end of each season and the finality of a project or task at hand," Stardust says. "They are flexible due to their understanding of change."

Life is anything but certain, especially now, but mutable signs can turn on a sixpence and adapt any situation to their advantage.

They also make light of things, putting a positive spin on the trickiest of times, which is why so many of them go into politics.

    Source: Read Full Article